My Networked Learning Project – A Good Yarn

Our newest assignment in CEP 810 is our Networked Learning Project.  We need to learn a new skill using only YouTube videos and Help Forums.  We were encouraged to be creative, step out of our professional selves, and choose something just for us.  Choosing a skill I wanted to learn was much harder than I had anticipated.  What I really wanted to do was learn to knit.  I embroider and cross stitch, but I never learned to knit because my mom is left-handed and it was too difficult for her to turn it around to teach me.   I looked at all the sample projects and saw lots of other people had chosen knitting.  I wanted to do something different.  I tossed around some other ideas – rosemaling, cartooning, some new software – but in my heart, I wanted to learn to knit.  I decided my project will be to knit a scarf for my daughter. 

The first thing I did was determine what I needed.  I found a pattern for a basic beginners scarf here, and purchased the recommended yarn and knitting needles.  It was very easy to find videos for beginning knitters.  I watched How to Knit – Absolute Beginner Knitting, Lesson 1 – Even if You’re Clueless! by ExpressionFiberArts first.  It was very accessible and a good overview of the three things you need to know how to do in order to knit, but it turned out I was even worse than clueless.  I then found the Knitting 101 series of videos by New Stitch A Day.  They are wonderful.  The instructions are slow, clear and perfect for someone like me.  With the help of the video Knitting 101 : How to Cast On for Beginners, I was finally able to cast on my first row of stitches.  This photo shows the results of my hour of overcoming my lack of hand-eye coordination.

My first knitting success!
My first knitting success!

 

My plan is to spend Week 2 of the project mastering the knit stitch and starting to work on the body of the scarf.  I am hoping to build up enough muscle memory that the stitching becomes automatic and that I am able to finish the stitching part while being a soccer mom over the course of a couple of weeks, and finally learn the binding stitch that is used to finish up the project.  I hope you will follow me on my journey to knitting nirvana. 

3 thoughts on “My Networked Learning Project – A Good Yarn

  1. Hi Mrs. Arnold,

    I think knitting is a great choice to choose for your project, especially because you want to make a scarf for your daughter. I used to be into knitting scarves when I was in high school, and it was addictive! Once you get the muscle memory down, you can do it without even looking (while you are being a soccer mom!) I think using YouTube videos will be helpful for learning his new skill. I know that I like to see things being done, pause the video, try myself, rewind if I have to, and then try again! Good luck!

    Colleen Bache

    Like

  2. I learned to crochet as a kid, but never learned to knit. For some reason, I tend to get lost in the language but I’ll admit that I haven’t tried to use videos. Here’s to a fun and productive adventure!

    Like

Leave a Reply

