eBooks – The Remix

ipads In CEP 811, the first week was all about the remix.  After learning about what a remix is and how most every “new” idea is really a remix of an older idea, we were tasked with creating our own remix of an educational technology buzzword using the tool Mozilla Popcorn Maker.

For my remix, I chose the word ebooks.  I am a school librarian and ebooks has been a pretty big topic in my world for the past five years. I am a pretty technology centric teacher librarian, but I still love my paper books.  That being said, I also love books on my kindle, my iPad, even my laptop or phone depending on the situation. I took that as my starting point.  Books and the stories, facts and inspirations included within them are not dependent on the material’s format.

I started in the Perlinger Archives looking at their fantastically interesting educational movies from the 40s, 50s and 60s.  I was not disappointed in my search for an old school portrayal of a school library.  There were several that would have served as the perfect juxtaposition to ebooks and modern school libraries.  A short clip from one of them was a great starting point for my project.  I then searched flickr for photos of students reading using a variety of interfaces.  It was surprisingly difficult to find photos such as these with Creative Commons attributions, and I had to choose one image that did not represent my point quite as well as I had wished.  My problem then was how to connect the old and the new.  I found an image that I felt would be perfect and I think works as a nice bridge.  While searching for resources, I found a youtube video that said what I wanted to say with my remix.  I wasn’t sure how to fit it in, but it ended up making a nice conclusion to my piece.

My work contains material from the sources cited below.

To see my remix, click here.  Any feedback is welcome.

This work includes material from the following sources in order of use:

Holmes (Burton) Films, Inc. (Producer). (1947). The Librarian [Streaming video]. Retrieved from Prelinger Collection https://archive.org/details/Libraria1947  Licensed under the Creative Commons Public Domain license.

Collier, J. B. (2005). Untitled #18. On Solo Guitar [CD]. Virginia: Bradsongs.  Used with permission of the artist.

SMPTE color bars [Online image]. (2006). Retrieved October 25, 2014 from http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:SMPTE_Color_Bars.svg  Licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported license.

US Department of Education (2013). IMG33 [Online image]. Retrieved October 25, 2014 from https://flic.kr/p/fCP5U2
Licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 Generic license.

Ribeiro, L. (2008). Children at School [Online image]. Retrieved October 25, 2014 from https://flic.kr/p/ehBnRE  Licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 2.0 Generic license.

Jarrett, K. (2012). Padcamp 2012 [Online image]. Retrieved October 25, 2014 from https://flic.kr/p/cTmUtu  Licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 Generic license.

Cassidy, K. (2006). Our Carpet [Online image]. Retrieved October 25, 2014 from https://flic.kr/p/6pr4p6  Licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 2.0 Generic license.

Marques, T. (2014). Concentrado no jogo [Online image].  Retrieved October 25, 2014 from https://flic.kr/p/mLxVUR
Licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 2.0 Generic license.

Haight, L. [Lois Haight]. (2014).  Elementary eBooks: iSchool capstone 2014 [Video file].  Retrieved October 25, 2014 from http://youtu.be/PiVKi11f2AA  Licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 Generic license.

Leave a Reply

