Summer “Break”

We are heading into the last week of school.  I have so much to do  – shelf read, get books back, pack up the technology, but most importantly, I have to decide what work I need to prioritize this summer.  13310385_1614314352219303_8298288264891305287_n.jpg

This isn’t going to be another rant about how teachers really do not have a break in the summer.  Yes, I am busy – with my kids, home projects that I do not have time for in the school year, course work and planning for the new school year.  On the flip side, I can read a book in the sun on a random Wednesday afternoon.  It has its advantages.

This summer will be tougher than many.  My assistant is retiring and my job is undergoing a complete overhaul.  I am not sure how I will manage without the woman who has been my right hand for the past 11 years.  I am not sure how I will train someone new when I do not even fully know how our world will look.  I am nervous and overwhelmed, but I am also excited.  I am looking forward to spending my summer getting my head around my new role.  I am looking forward to growing and becoming the educator I want to be.

Leave a Reply

